Sarah-Douthat-cropped-2-300x328.jpg

SARAH DOUTHAT

NiswongerCARE Advisor

sdouthat@niswongerfoundation.org

Phone: (423) 820-0246

Schools Served:

Clinch School

Cherokee High School

Hancock County High School

Volunteer High School

Hi friends! My name is Sarah Douthat. It’s nice to (sort of) meet you! Here’s just a little bit about me. I was born and raised on a farm in Mohawk, TN with an older brother, a younger sister, and a younger brother, making me number two of four. I promise there was never a dull moment in our house. 


I graduated from West Greene High School in 2018. During my senior year of high school, I had the incredible honor of being chosen as a Niswonger Scholar. With that amazing opportunity, I decided to move to West TN to continue my education at the University of TN at Martin. Once there, I had absolutely no idea what I wanted to do with the rest of my life. I had changed my major six different times before my Freshman year was even over. Finally, after some long, hard conversations with God, I felt called to pursue a degree in Public Health, and the rest is history. (It wasn’t as simple as I just made it seem, but if you want to know the full story, you’ll have to use the link below to schedule an appointment with me! ;))


Through all the uncertainty, I still have amazing memories of laughter, coffee dates, and car ride jam sessions. I found some of my very best friends on that tiny rural campus. That said, there were also a lot of tears and stress and all the wonderful stuff that comes with college. I can safely say I will never be able to catch up on the sleep lost during the many late-night cram sessions before exams. However, I wouldn’t trade a single moment of it. In every stressful moment, every tear, every study session, I was making a memory with someone. I don’t remember what exam I was studying for or what major I was on, but I remember who I was with, and that’s what matters to me. I definitely did not have my life figured out in college (honestly, I still don’t), but the relationships I built were worth so much more than all the struggles.


Flashforward 3.5 years, and I graduated in December 2021 with my bachelor’s in Health and Human Performance. I still didn’t know what I wanted to do with my life. I knew I wanted to take a break from my own education and just explore life, but I didn’t know what that looked like. Turns out, it looks like this: a college graduate who doesn’t know what she wants to do helping high school students figure out what they want to do and how to do it. So, here I am, ready to serve as a NiswongerCARE Advisor!


However, when I’m not advising, I can be found hanging out with my family, my boyfriend Dillon, and our dog Harley, a 1.5-year-old, epileptic labradoodle. I might be a biased dog-mom, but she’s seriously the cutest thing ever. I spend a lot of time training her and teaching her new tricks. We’re currently working on “Search” where we give her a scent, hide it, and she has to find it. She’s surprisingly good at it! Maybe one day, she’ll be able to find the matches to all my shoes that I constantly lose… Other than that, I love to read, thrift, attempt DIYs, and go camping. 


I’m so excited to work with you all, and I can’t wait to meet you in-person! If you need anything, please don’t hesitate to reach out! :)